Queensland Sprint Champions Crowned at Moreton Bay

Queensland Sprint Champions Crowned at Moreton Bay

MBT Swim exit

Moreton Bay turned on a stunning autumn day for the Queensland Championships - Sprint Distance, incorporating both the final race of the Nissan State Series and the Nissan Club Championships.  Club pride was on display in full force with participation numbers up by 14% and more club tents than ever lining the course.

Fastest on course on Sunday was Pine River Triathlon Club's Nicholas Free, with a time of 59.29, followed by Sharks' Luke Harvey  52 seconds later.    Nicholas Free also had the fastest run split of the day with a 17.06 5km run.  

Fastest female on course was Sunshine Coast Triathlon Academy's Romy Wolstencroft in a time of 1.04.55, 49 seconds ahead of her closest competitor, Madi Roberts from Surfers Paradise Triathlon Club.  Both Luke and Romy were backing up after competing at the Australian Schools Triathlon Festival Championship races on the Thursday and Friday.

Your winners of the Queensland Championship - Sprint distance are:

7-9 Jade Hennessy | Fletcher Medway
10-11 Sophie Burger | Ethan Close
12-13 Jessica Pike | Jackson Medway
14-15 Hayley Partridge | Lachlan Medway 
Romy Wolstencroft | Luke Harvey

18-19 Katinka Von Elsner-Wellsteed | Nicholas Free
Madi Roberts | Tom Grieve 
25-29 Clare White | Ryan Devlin

30-34 Sian Keast | Damien Bulters

35-39 Fiona Lenz | Peter Court 
40-44 Cath Rogers | Simon Nash
45-49 Sara Moser | Jordan Gover
50-54 Angela Clarke | Mark Blencowe
55-59 Allison Jones | Malcolm Miller
60-64 Linda Meredith | Randall Kelly
65-69 N/A | Greg Lebeter
70-74 N/A | Ken Mclean

Paratriathlon  Debbie Wendt

Up for grabs at the Moreton Bay Triathlon for clubs was the opportunity to win their share of the $9000 Nissan Club Championship Prize Pool.    Taking out the Large Club Championship with a $3000 cash prize this year was Red Dog with 450 points.  Medium Club Championships, with a $2000 cash prize went to Be-Energetic Tri and Run Club with 220 points.  Small Club Championship with a $1000 cash prize went to Vision Tri Club.

The Aggregate Championship (where the number of points awarded is divided by the Club's total membership), was awarded to Be-Energetic Tri and Run Club, with Vision Tri Club second and Starfish Tri-Athletic Club third.  Cash prizes were also awarded to this category.  A full wrap up can be found here. 

Results can be found here.





TQ Partners as at October 2020


Triathlon Australia
Triathlon ACT
Triathlon NSW
Triathlon NT
Triathlon SA
Triathlon TAS
Triathlon VIC
Triathlon WA