Queenslanders Battle in Devonport

Queenslanders Battle in Devonport



In a Kiwi dominated weekend, it was Queenslander Jo Miller who ran herself to gold in the Elite women’s race at the Devonport Triathlon over the weekend. 

Miller was crowned as the Oceania Sprint queen, and fellow QAS standout, Matt Roberts narrowly fell to the U23 world Champion Kiwi, Tayler Reid, to take out silver in the Men’s elite. 

Devonport doubled as an U23 series race giving both Miller and Roberts points toward their march to become the National Series champions. 

No stranger to the podium, Katie Kelly raced strongly with her guide Briarna Silk to take out the PTV1, and Gerard Gosens, PTV1, dropped a hot race to come in second in the B1 division and 5th overall for the category. 

Nic Beveridge struck gold with a solid race in the PTWC men and Sara Tait continues to build impressive form with a 5th in the PTWC women. 

In the Junior men it was consistent performer, Luke Harvey who finished 5th in the Oceania Junior Sprint Championships, and second Aussie finisher landing him silver in the Australian Championship.

Toby Powers stormed the field to take home the Australian Championship in the Youth A men, and classy as ever, Tara Sosinski, hit the podium once again with a bronze in the women. 

Mia Wooldridge pulled off a win in the Youth B women, and Sebastian Wingad won the men with Ethan Close in third and Payton Craig just behind in 4th. 

Other Queensland notable performances: 

Elite Men OTU Sprint Championship U23 Series
Ryan Fisher 5th
Brandon Copeland 6th (5th U23)
Kye Wylde (7th U23)

Elite Women OTU Sprint Championship U23 Series
Kira Hedgeland 8th (5th U23)
Romy Wolstencroft 10th (6th U23)
Zoe Leahy (7th U23) 

Josh Kassulke 4th 

Junior Women OTU Junior Sprint Championships Australian Championships
Richelle Hill 7th
Victoria Gillies 8th
Emma Hogan 9th 

Youth A Men Australian Championships

Ryan Marsh 9th

Full results


TQ Partners as at October 2020


Triathlon Australia
Triathlon ACT
Triathlon NSW
Triathlon NT
Triathlon SA
Triathlon TAS
Triathlon VIC
Triathlon WA