Queenslanders crowned at The Hot One

Queenslanders crowned at The Hot One

2017 Hell of the West - Delly Carr  

Photo: Delly Carr

Elite Long Course Australian Championship

Reigning IRONMAN 70.3 World Champion, Tim Reed, adds another Australian Elite Championship to his achievements with a classy performance, coming first across the line in 3:38:42. Racing for the first time at Hell of the West, Reed praised the iconic race and the famous Goondiwindi hospitality.

"Historical races are so important, you're not just racing against the guys today, you're racing against legends who have raced here before. Getting the Australian title means a lot, it's a great way to kick off 2017."

"The locals have been incredibly friendly, they say that Goondiwindi is the friendliest town in Queensland, I thought everyone would say that in every town but this is probably the friendliest bunch of people I've met."

Gold Coast's Daniel Stein secured second place with a solid bike and run, finishing in 3:47:25 giving him a 1min 15sec buffer over former IRONMAN Western Australia champion Luke McKenzie.

Sarah Crowley made three Hell of the West titles four on the weekend, taking out the Elite Australian Championship in 3:58:03, smashing the course record by nearly 10 minutes.

In her post race interview Crowley confirmed Hell of the West is definitely one of her favourite events. Hailing from South Australia, the regional Goondiwindi course feels like home.

Queensland's Katey Gibb and New South Wale's Lauren Parker joined Crowley on the podium for the Elite Australian Championship.


Age Group Australian Long Course Championship

700 athletes from across the country took part in Queensland's oldest long distance triathlon, now in its 28th year. 15 Queenslanders came away as Australian Champion after half a days' racing in Hell of the West, over a 2km swim, 80km ride and 20km run with temperatures racing over 40 degrees.

The fastest time clocked in the Age Group Australian Champions was by Queensland's Jarrod Harvey (25-29) finishing in 3:57:44, just 19:02 minutes off the Elite Champion, Tim Reed.

Congratulations to Queensland's new Australian Champions: Isobel Chisholm (18-19), Jarrod Harvey & Ashleigh Hunter (25-29), Sean Richardson & Alison Maher (30-34), Scott Farrell (35-39), Ian Edwards & Cath Rogers (40-44), Wes Thompson & Tracey Zammit (45-49), Mark Bristow & Marion Hermitage (50-54), Phil Hermitage & Teresa Kunaeva (60-64) and Alan Pitman (65-59).


Nissan State Series - Queensland Championship Long Course

Congratulations to our newly crowned Queensland Champions. Updated Nissan State Series points are available here.

2016-17 Long Course Queensland Champions

18 - 19: Isobel Chisholm
20-24: Simon Kay | Kaitlyn Price
25-29: Jarrod Harvey | Ashleigh Hunter
30-34: Sean Richardson | Alison Maher
35-39: Scott Farrell | Amie Munson
40-44: Ian Edwards | Cath Rogers
45-49: Wes Thompson | Tracey Zammit
50-54: Mark Bristow | Marion Hermitage
55-59: Colin Forrest | Janet McAfee
60-64: Phil Hermitage | Teresa Kunaeva
65-69: Alan Pitman

Full results



TQ Partners as at October 2020


Triathlon Australia
Triathlon ACT
Triathlon NSW
Triathlon NT
Triathlon SA
Triathlon TAS
Triathlon VIC
Triathlon WA