Queenslanders take out Aus Champs

Queenslanders take out Aus Champs

Australian Sprint Championships Robina
Photo: Leanne Handreck Photography


Australian Sprint Triathlon Champions crowned at Robina

20 Queenslanders were awarded Australian Titles at The Event Crew's Gatorade Queensland Triathlon Series Round 5 race.  This sellout event has hosted the national titles for both sprint distance and paratriathlon for the past 2 years and provides a flat, fast course loved by athletes. Clubs were out in force supporting their athletes on this spectator friendly course.


Australian Paratriathlon Championships

First held in Penrith 5 years ago, the Australian Paratriathlon Championships are raced over the sprint distance.   

Queenslanders Bill Chaffey (PT1), Debbie Wendt (PT3)  and Gerard Gosens (PT5) won their class at this national event, with Chaffey crossing the line in under 60 minutes.   

With a World Paratriathlon Series race on the Gold Coast this April, and the inclusion of the PT1 category in next year's Commonwealth Games, there's never been more opportunities for para athletes in our sport.    


Australian Sprint Championships

Queenslanders were well represented in the Age Group Sprint Championships with 17 titles awarded to Queenslanders.    

Consecutive winners include Surfers Paradise Triathlon Club's Jenny Alcorn, Brisbane Triathlon Club's Damien Bulters and Red Dog's Greg Bush.   

Charles Linderberg and Brittney Yarde backed up from racing in the draft legal Australian Youth Junior Under 23 Championships Triathlon Series the day before to take the age group sprint title.


14-15: Charles Liebenberg 

16-19: Brittany Yarde 

20-24: Travis Coleman | Madi Roberts

25-29: Brad Newman | Maighan Brown 

30-34: Damien Bulters l Sian Reece

35-39: Jaryd Adams 

40-44: Andrew O'Brien | Alli Cook

45-49: Tracey Zammit

50-54: Angela Clarke

55-59: Jenny Alcorn

60-64: Greg Bush | Jo Teske

65-69: Jan Somers




TQ Partners as at October 2020


Triathlon Australia
Triathlon ACT
Triathlon NSW
Triathlon NT
Triathlon SA
Triathlon TAS
Triathlon VIC
Triathlon WA