Follow us on: facebook icon twitter_icon Instagram you tube icon

 > Home Page > About > Latest News > Age Group Champions crowned in Mooloolaba

Age Group Champions crowned in Mooloolaba

Age Group Champions crowned in Mooloolaba

The 31st edition of the Mooloolaba Triathlon took place over the weekend, with thousands of athletes racing across a 1.5km swim, 40km ride, and 10km run in Sunday’s standard distance Australian Championship. 

Athletes embraced the challenge to claim Australian titles and earn qualifying points for selection to represent Australia at the 2023 World Triathlon Age Group World Championships in Pontevedra later this year. 

Despite the clear skies, the high humidity made for a tough day on the course. However, the athletes persevered, and some of them even defended their Age Group Champion titles.

Last year’s Champions; Sophie Burger, Grant Edwards, Suzanne Chandler, Kim Elvery, Phil Davies, and Stephen Parnell all claimed back-to-back titles in their respective age groups.

Briarna Silk, Australian Tokyo Paralympics representative and Guide to Katie Kelly, was among the Australian Age Group champions crowned on Sunday, finishing seventh overall.

While 2022 Super Sprint AG World Champion Dominic Churchett, who finished in the top 12 overall in under 2 hours, claimed Silver to Champion Jack Smith in the 25-29 Age Group.

The Mooloolaba Triathlon is a key event on the Australian triathlon calendar, and it continues to attract some of the best athletes from across the country. 

Nicholas Free and Lotte Wilms also claimed victory in the men’s and women’s open races at the Mooloolaba Triathlon, with both athletes impressing on their way to the top step of the podium.

Congratulations to all the participants, champions, and podium getters.
Next up on the Australian Age Group Championships calendar is the inaugural Super Sprint Championships on 1 April in New South Wales, hosted by the Redline Games.

The Mooloolaba Triathlon is supported by the Queensland Government through Tourism and Events Queensland and features on the It’s Live! in Queensland events calendar.

2022/2023 Australian Age Group Standard Distance Champions

Age Group (F / M)
15-19 Sophie Burger | Kye Robinson
20-24 Kristie Caplikas | Rohan Hickey
25-29 Phoebe Kelly | Jack Smith
30-34 Rebecca Jenner | Hamish Harrison
35-39 Briarna Silk | Andrew Small
40-44 Alison Ryan | Grant Edwards
45-49 Taryn Lester | Jonathan Roper
50-54 Suzanne Chandler | Troy Collins 
55-59 Marion Hermitage | Rob Hill 
60-64 Maureen Cummings | Garry Alston 
65-69 Kim Elvery | Phil Davies
70-74 Penny Hearn | Ken Rae
75-79 Stephen Parnell (M)

See all Results