Follow us on: facebook icon twitter_icon Instagram you tube icon

 > Home Page > About > Latest News > Aussie Triathletes Ready To Make History At Virtus Oceania Asia Games

Aussie Triathletes Ready To Make History At Virtus Oceania Asia Games

Aussie Triathletes Ready To Make History At Virtus Oceania Asia Games

A group of Aussie triathletes are ready to make history on the Gold Coast, becoming the first Australian triathlon team to compete at the Virtus Oceania Asia Games.

Delivered by Sport Inclusion Australia, the Virtus Oceania Asia Games 2022 (OA Games 2022) is an international multi-sport competition in the Oceania Asia region for elite athletes with an intellectual impairment. This year’s event is the first time a Virtus Regional Games will be held for the Oceania Asia region with hundreds of athletes and officials from more than 20 countries attending.


Triathlon has entered the OA Games 2022 sports competition as a demonstration event for sports development. It will showcase the ability of II-1 athletes with intellectual impairment to compete at the highest level of international sports competition.


Intellectual Impairment is an umbrella term to describe a vast and neuro-diverse group of people with varying types of cognitive impairments. It is characterised by significant limitations, both in intellectual functioning and in adaptive behaviour as expressed in conceptual, social and practical adaptive skills.


Back-to-back Triathlon Australia Intellectual Impairment National Champions Cameron Marshall and Georgia Powning feature in the team looking to add to Australia’s medal tally.


The games are one of Brisbane’s first major international multi-sport events on its exciting green and gold runway towards the Brisbane 2032 Olympic & Paralympic Games.


The OA Games 2022 triathlon event is a super sprint format - 350m swim, 9km bike, 2km run - and takes place on Friday 11th November from 9:15am Brisbane time (AEST).

OA Games 2022 - Australian Triathlon Team 

Georgia Powning
India Biesse-Fitton
Montana Whiteley
Annabelle Colman
Sophia Hughes
Evie Patterson
Molly Thatcher
Cameron Marshall
Harry Mezger
Carlo Manolitsas
Andre Ascui
Nathan Broeren

Nathan Glarvey
Finn Hervey
Monty Cooper